Why are old transcripts opening when I launch InqScribe?

InqScribe provides an auto-recovery feature that retrieves files that were "auto-saved" prior to a crash or forced quit.

Older versions of InqScribe (prior to v2.1) automatically relaunch transcript files that were “auto-saved” prior to a crash or forced quit. In some cases, the files that open may have a “(Recovered)” in the title. 

In version 2.1 and later, InqScribe provides you with a dialog from which you can select which automatically saved file you want to recover.

Here is how you can prevent the auto-recover prompts from happening the next time you launch InqScribe:

InqScribe v2.1 and later: In the auto-recovery dialog, simply select the file and click the Delete button. Do this for as many files as you see in the list.

Prior to InqScribe v2.1: To prevent auto-saved backups from reopening, simply re-save all the files that open automatically (you might try re-saving them to a new location so they don’t overwrite any existing versions). Then quit InqScribe. Then relaunch InqScribe and see if the problem happens again.

If that method fails, the other solution is to manually delete the items in the autosave backup folder. Quit InqScribe, delete the backup files, and relaunch InqScribe.

Here’s where these files are located:

  • In Windows XP, InqScribe stores autosave backups in the following location:
    C: > Documents & Settings > Username > Application Data > InqScribe > Backups.
  • In Vista, InqScribe stores autosave backups in the following location: 
    C: > Users > Username > AppData > Roaming > InqScribe > Backups.
  • In MacOS, InqScribe stores autosave backups in the following location:
    ~/Library/Preferences/InqScribe/Backups

(For Mac, if you don't see the "Library" folder, go to the Finder, hold down the Option key, and select the "Go" menu.  You should see "Library" listed as one of the options.)

You can adjust the auto-save options at any time in InqScribe’s preferences.

Feedback and Knowledge Base